Blocks are reusable pieces of text that you may want to use in several show notes Templates or when you’re adding show notes manually.

Blocks can include free text and Shortcodes and are intended to be used to give you more flexibility when creating repeating areas of text. Blocks have replaced “snippets” and any previous snippets that you had have been transformed into “Blocks”.

When Blocks are used in Show Notes Templates or elsewhere, they’re treated as placeholders for the “real” content that they store and when you publish your episode, that Block will be replaced by your actual content. If you insert Blocks dynamically (recommended), when you change that Block’s content, your show notes will automatically update across all previous and future episodes.

How to create show notes Blocks:

  • Click “Show Notes” in the left menu from your Captivate dashboard

  • Click the “Blocks” tab

  • Click “Add New Block”

  • Give your Block a label

  • Type free text or use Shortcodes within your Block

  • When you’re finished, click “Create Block”

You’ll be taken back to the Blocks list and that Block is now ready to be used within Show Notes Templates, whoop!

How to edit show notes Blocks:

  • Click “Show Notes” in the left menu from your Captivate dashboard

  • Click the “Blocks” tab

  • Click the edit pencil icon next to the corresponding Block that you’d like to edit

  • Make your changes

  • When you’re finished, click “Update Block”

You’ll be taken back to the Blocks list and, if that Block has been used dynamically in any show notes across your podcast, it will have been updated within them all and every one of your episodes updated to suit. That is pretty cool, isn’t it.

How to delete show notes Blocks:

NOTE: you cannot delete Blocks that are in use within Show Notes Templates or manual show notes. You must remove them from where they’re used. There’s no limit on the number of Blocks that you can create so there’s little need to delete them.

  • Click the red trashcan icon from the Blocks list that corresponds to the Template that you’d like to delete

  • Read the message that pops up to tell you what will happen when you delete this Block

  • Click “Yes, delete Block

You’ll be returned to the Blocks list.

A Block Being Created

Did this answer your question?